Blog

Work is going great

I love positivity. It’s truly inspiring. I don’t need to say that. Surely you already know this. But, I’m getting a lot of it at work lately. Sure, there’s still ups and downs at work. Overall, there really is a good sense of positivity and productivity at work. Loving it. 

So, yeah – I love my job. It’s fun, challenging, and something you’d really notice moving forward. If you’re new to me, and I know this blog is, I’m, what they call me, a production manager for a newspaper company. I feel like it’s just a fancy way of saying that I’m the person to blame if the paper doesn’t actually get printed. Well, we do all have our roles, but I’m basically the only person in the building that knows how to get the finished pages on the computer out to the machine that prints the paper. 

More about what I do on a daily basis. Firstly, you’ll notice that I’m responsible for designing ads for all kinds of different businesses that print in our paper’s pages. I work with two others that design ads all day as well. We receive orders placed by our sales team, interpret the instructions of how the customer would like the ad created, and then after we’re done a digital copy of the advertisement is sent for them to approve for print. 

So, if you like an ad – just remember that someone sat in front of a computer and took the time to tediously brainstorm, arrange with trial and error, and passion to get it done for the customer. 

Between the three of us, we have a tremendous work load. As creative people, it’s hard to continually pump out unique and amazing designs for so many diverse businesses. Basically, it’s mentally exhausting, in lies the challenge. Bill Gates once said that he would always hire a lazy person because they’d find the easiest way to get something done. 

I’m a lazy person. Although, I’m also the type of person that will get what needs to be done, complete. No question, no if, ands, or buts. That’s just how I am. I’m also competitive, and more so with myself. I seem to create personal goals, embarrass when I don’t meet them, and ask for acknowledgement when I share milestones with others. 

With all the previous in mind, what I’m getting at is that I look for the easiest way to get everything I need done. Keyboard shortcuts, organization methods, etc. I hunt them down and find the things that allow us to get the information and productivity there in the work place. Work smarter, not harder right? 

I organized the way we keep our files on the server. Guess what? No one complains about “spinning” anymore. When I first got there, that’s all anyone complained about. It’s funny. Now that I think about it, I seriously haven’t heard anyone at all say they’re spinning. Productivity!

It’s just exciting and thrilling to be able to say that I’m affecting something in such a positive way. I’m apart of a community that needs me, and appreciates that I’m there. I also have a passion for our business, and what we do. I’ve found my spot in the world. I feel good. 

All these kind words, after working a 14 hour day. Now that’s someone that loves their job. 

Leave a Reply

